Sew What!

I’ve been teaching myself how to sew for the past year or so. I had only tackled extremely simple things like curtains and hemming, but I wanted to try something a bit harder. I had this idea to make the kids each an activity bag for our upcoming trip to San Diego.  I usually bring some quiet time activities on our vacations, but this year I wanted to do something special.  I came across this tutorial to sew a reversible tote bag and I thought this was the perfect little project for me to tackle.  Each of the kids got to pick out their own material, although I wasn’t going to tell them what it was for. And away I went! I made a few mistakes along the way, but I think they turned out pretty darn good for my first try.  I some extra fabric left over, so I decided to get all crazy and try this tutorial to make a matching case for markers and crayons.

Image

Carter picked a basketball pattern.

Image

Jaxon picked a construction pattern.

Image

Maddox picked a hockey pattern, of course!

I then wanted to fill them with things corresponding to our trip. We’ll be going to Legoland, Sea World and the San Diego Zoo, to name a few.  Jeremy printed out and laminated Lego Star Wars tags.
IMG_3066 IMG_3065 IMG_3064 IMG_3063 IMG_3067 IMG_3068
I found a bunch of free printable pictures online and put them in a duotang to make a customized colouring book for them. Here’s a few of the pages from the homemade colouring book.  I also found a Zoo Passport designed for a trip to the San Diego Zoo for a fun zoo activity.  And of course the highlight was that I found some new Lego Ninjago colouring pages.

IMG_3080

Add some bubbles, a new animal book, a word puzzle book, some M&M’s and voila! We gave them the totes this morning and they were a big hit! Great memories for what’s sure to be an exciting trip.  Can’t wait!

2 thoughts on “Sew What!

Leave a Reply

